> ## Knowledge Base Index
> Fetch the complete knowledge base index at: https://help.cf-staging.co.uk/sitemap.xml
> Use this file to discover available pages before exploring further.
> Pure-Markdown content can be obtained by appending a '.md' suffix to the content URLs listed in the sitemap (without the trailing slash).

# Deactivating admin users' management portal access (whilst retaining their app access)

When an admin user is added to the system an app account is automatically created for them.

There may be occasions when you no longer want a portal user to access the portal but still want them to have access to their app account. This guide will show you how to do this.

**Step 1:** From the dashboard, click **settings** then **portal users_:_**

[![](https://storage.crisp.chat/users/helpdesk/website/-/b/e/e/a/beea0bcd2ff32800/1f97bce2-21df-4dfc-99e1-55f068_1lejw7i.png)](https://downloads.intercomcdn.com/i/o/1116477205/b91da87361af703dcbb074fd/image.png?expires=1790073900&signature=de1ef63c2b62d4580bdab47e3e5800ac96f0e5dae6eed9c4ce3d1a48ef43f3f1&req=dSEmEM15moNfXPMW1HO4zR%2Fh322Tz2AcUwtLuwzKeOx%2Ffkf5jn2g379z6xG1%0Ap4ydFyUixLcpcFAQYSg%3D%0A)

**Step 2:** From here, click on the **three-dot menu** next to the user you want to remove portal access from and select '**Deactivate user'****_._**

[![](https://storage.crisp.chat/users/helpdesk/website/-/c/d/8/3/cd83c47a31df0800/33b8ee36-2b90-4ebd-830a-f630b9_73b4wi.png)](https://downloads.intercomcdn.com/i/o/573525224/3fd5b62f59c21936177d6111/image.png?expires=1790073900&signature=c42c9e896ef0211319686e4aa3b010477cd0efba7925eceed139200ba2c67012&req=cSckE8t7n4NbFb4f3HP0gDL387YG2R2WoG%2FFwo1vMXLwdAybE7iqEbXgjQKW%0AMtYVpPfWz28dCzLhCg%3D%3D%0A)

**Step 3:** Next, click **Deactivate portal only.**

[![](https://storage.crisp.chat/users/helpdesk/website/-/7/f/a/b/7fabf98d02b01400/c0c75b6c-e085-4245-959f-266e89_1f9lb7l.png)](https://downloads.intercomcdn.com/i/o/506759869/6f60063b88d484fc73bcbe19/image.png?expires=1790073900&signature=ecdb00468560ad605d5fd57f52998aee912547a832bc81e9ef1fd52584875fed&req=cSAhEcx3lYdWFb4f3HP0gObeOmfhMxQvP20Rlcnrr8klEv4YcJ%2BkT42r3fyG%0AB%2BagEF5dDne51ufGTA%3D%3D%0A)

The admin user will now have a status of **'Deactivated'** and will no longer be able to log into the management portal, but will still be able to log into the app and share jobs.

We hope this article has been helpful. If you have any questions about this or anything else, please get in touch by clicking on the chat icon in the bottom right of your screen.

**What's Next?**

* [Inviting additional admin users to use your portal](https://support.carefriends.co.uk/en/articles/4277269-inviting-additional-admin-users-to-your-portal)
* [Editing admin user details- including permissions and points eligibility](https://support.carefriends.co.uk/en/articles/4280234-edit-admin-user-details-including-permissions-and-points-earning-eligibility)
* [Re-inviting an admin user](https://support.carefriends.co.uk/en/articles/5191619-how-to-reinvite-an-admin-user)